Skip to content
Bedford Counts — Bedford, in numbers.Local help →

Bedford, in numbers

People and living standards

Bedford council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bedford council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 135,443 in 1991 to 196,398 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bedford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 138,023 people in 1996; 196,398 people in 2025. 42.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991135,443
1992136,858
1993136,991
1994137,006
1995137,231
1996138,023
1997139,990
1998141,556
1999143,765
2000146,146
2001148,113
2002149,589
2003150,684
2004151,308
2005151,747
2006152,346
2007153,107
2008154,164
2009154,808
2010156,535
2011157,840
2012160,344
2013163,672
2014166,856
2015170,149
2016173,703
2017175,537
2018178,288
2019180,651
2020182,346
2021185,796
2022187,805
2023191,452
2024194,881
2025196,398
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bedford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,832 people in 1996; 38,636 people in 2025. 34% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,498
199228,674
199328,700
199428,804
199528,783
199628,832
199728,977
199829,307
199930,041
200030,545
200130,687
200230,704
200330,823
200430,755
200530,815
200631,006
200731,022
200831,179
200931,238
201031,426
201131,594
201232,070
201332,682
201433,372
201533,948
201634,795
201735,408
201836,077
201936,467
202036,616
202137,080
202237,563
202338,272
202438,758
202538,636
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bedford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 88,621 people in 1996; 123,528 people in 2025. 39.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199187,591
199288,488
199388,390
199488,066
199588,026
199688,621
199790,256
199891,261
199992,459
200093,948
200195,385
200296,584
200397,232
200497,807
200597,982
200698,255
200798,881
200899,249
200999,423
2010100,521
2011101,111
2012102,244
2013103,998
2014105,732
2015107,787
2016109,987
2017110,773
2018112,394
2019113,749
2020114,878
2021117,442
2022118,322
2023120,531
2024122,682
2025123,528
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bedford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,570 people in 1996; 34,234 people in 2025. 66.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,354
199219,696
199319,901
199420,136
199520,422
199620,570
199720,757
199820,988
199921,265
200021,653
200122,041
200222,301
200322,629
200422,746
200522,950
200623,085
200723,204
200823,736
200924,147
201024,588
201125,135
201226,030
201326,992
201427,752
201528,414
201628,921
201729,356
201829,817
201930,435
202030,852
202131,274
202231,920
202332,649
202433,441
202534,234
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 185,224 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bedford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh23,26312.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African9,8485.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,5864.6%
White140,17475.7%
Other ethnic group3,3531.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 157,479 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bedford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,84680.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5,3863.4%
Asian/Asian British17,93211.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6,2023.9%
Other ethnic group1,1130.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 147,911 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bedford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White128,65987%
Mixed2,9102%
Asian/Asian British11,4507.7%
Black/Black British3,8502.6%
Chinese/Other1,0420.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bedford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,291 per person in 1997; £24,626 per person in 2024. 118.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,291
199811,247
199911,720
200012,154
200112,257
200212,744
200313,047
200413,504
200514,200
200614,681
200715,277
200815,759
200916,228
201016,538
201116,721
201216,924
201317,249
201417,720
201518,758
201619,222
201719,736
201820,342
201920,952
202020,898
202121,490
202222,513
202323,473
202424,626
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bedford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 6.4% in 1997; -5.2% in 2024. 11.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bedford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19976.4
19983.9
19993.6
20002.1
2001-0.9
20020.7
20030.1
2004-0.5
20051
20060.3
2007-0.4
20080.1
20091.3
20102.4
20112.6
20120.2
2013-1.5
2014-2
2015-1.4
2016-0.2
20170.2
2018-0.3
2019-0.6
2020-0.4
2021-1.6
2022-2
2023-4
2024-5.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.3%

21 March 2021 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.8%

21 March 2021 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£334,000

July 2026 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,173

August 2026 · Bedford council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.